Writers and Typewriters

I’ve always been keen to find out some of my favourite author’s writing methods; whether they sit down with a cup of tea, or a strong drink, what kind of typewriter they used, whether they sat in their garden shed or in a cluttered study- that kind of thing. So, it was a happy find when I came across this Flavorwire article on famous writers and their typewriters.

Some highlights:

Ernest Hemingway:

George Orwell:

William S. Burroughs:

Tennessee Williams:

Have a look at the full article here: Flavorwire

2 thoughts on “Writers and Typewriters

  1. So legit. I may have had a typewriter on my gift list for years, but now I’m content with a keyboard and big desk…I guess.

    • Keyboard is never quite as cool is it? I’d love to use old school typewriter- until I made a mistake and had to start again. No-one could look as cool as Hemingway in that pic- legend….

Leave a comment